Home   Sport   Article

Laura takes scratch trophy for third year in a row in Thurso Ladies' Open

By Contributor

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!
Winners from the recent Thurso Ladies' Open.
Winners from the recent Thurso Ladies' Open.

Fifty-five ladies from Caithness, Sutherland and Orkney took part in the Thurso Ladies' Open, sponsored by the Captain’s Galley restaurant.

It was a nice day for golf but strong winds in the afternoon made the back nine holes trickier than usual. The prizes were well contested, with the scoring being very close – particularly for the nett prizes.

Su Hawes, from Reay, had a slow start but three pars on the back nine meant she finished with a nett 71, enough to take third nett by the better inward half from Alison Ross.

Thurso ladies' captain Alison Campbell got off to a great start with an easy par on the first hole. It was steady golf for most of the round then but a missed putt on the last meant that she had to settle for second nett with a score of 70.

The nett winner was Lianne Sinclair from Stromness. She played some great golf in the first half, including a par at the fifth.

A couple of bad holes at 10 and 11 could have put an end to her hopes of victory, but Lianne kept her cool to play the rest of the round well and even get another par at the tricky 13th to finish with a great score of 69.

Overall winner Laura Durrand with sponsor Jody Sinclair from the Captain’s Galley.
Overall winner Laura Durrand with sponsor Jody Sinclair from the Captain’s Galley.

There were several contenders for the scratch prizes, with many just missing out by a shot.

Second scratch went to Reay's Rebecca Munro, whose round included eight pars and a fantastic birdie at the 18th, giving her a final gross score of 82.

The overall winner was Thurso’s Laura Durrand. Steady golf from the start plus birdies at the fourth, 10th and 16th holes saw her come in with an impressive gross 77 and meant she was the proud winner of the scratch trophy for the third year in a row.

Full list of prize-winners: 1st scratch Laura Durrand (Thurso); 2nd scratch Rebecca Munro (Reay); 3rd scratch Eileen Manson (Thurso). 1st nett Lianne Sinclair (Stromness); 2nd nett Alison Campbell (Thurso); 3rd nett Su Hawes (Reay); 4th nett Alison Ross (Reay); 5th nett Emma Durrand (Thurso); 6th nett Alice Fidler (Thurso).

Nearest the pin – Carol Paterson (Reay). Longest drive (bronze division) – Rachel Durrand (Thurso). Longest drive (silver division) – Isla Rendall (Stromness).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More