Home   Sport   Article

Wick and District Darts League: Seaforth men show title credentials

By Contributor

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Seaforth men Michael Campbell, Ryan Campbell, Richie Budge and Martin Nicolson are threatening to mount a title challenge in Division One of Wick and District Darts League after a 7-1 annihilation away to the Norseman.

Saulius Kazakauskas did win against Michael Campbell (3-2) in a contest that included a 17-darter but that didn't knock the Seaforth team off their stride.

At the refurbished Seaview, Smiddy "2" got closer to the league leaders than any other side but still lost out.

There was a cracker of a match in Harper's, with five maximums being hit and two ton-plus outshots, but it was visitors Castletown who took both points.

David Taylor (Smiddy "3") had a great win against Castletown Poachers. He and Logan Moodie both hit the magic 180.

Relegation is very much becoming a reality for the other David Taylor, though, as his Harper's "B" side lost yet again – this time to Old Smiddy Inn.

In Division Two, Seaforth ladies "B" held their own against the Park Hotel in Thurso as the teams shared the points.

Harper's "C" won without reply versus Camps ladies despite a valiant effort from Sammy Troy.

Morgan Perry hit her first maximum in the league and Duncan Winfield got his second as Seaforth ladies lost 7-1 to the Comm.

Results – Division One: Old Smiddy Inn 5, Harper's "B" 3; Harper's 2, Castletown 6; Seaview 5, Smiddy "2" 3; Castletown Poachers 3, Smiddy "3" 5; Norseman 1, Seaforth 7.

Division Two: Smiddy "4" 7, Queen's ladies 1; Camps ladies 0, Harper's "C" 8; Park 4, Seaforth ladies "B" 4; Seaforth ladies 1, Comm 7.

Maximums: Logan Moodie (Smiddy "3"), David Taylor (Smiddy "3"), Willie McLean Norseman (Norseman), Martin Nicolson (Seaforth), Donnie Farquhar (Castletown), Alan Henderson (Castletown), Stewart Tait (Seaview), John Bain (Castletown), George Baker (Harper's), Rab Edwards (Harper's), Ryan Campbell (Smiddy "2"), Duncan Winfield (Comm), Morgan Perry (Seaforth ladies).

Ton-plus checkouts: George Baker (Harper's), 118; Geordie Bain (Castletown), 114; Magnus Adamson (Seaforth ladies "B"), 102; David Taylor (Smiddy "3"), 102; Dylan Gunn (Park), 100.

Shortest recorded leg: Geordie Bain (Castletown), 15-darter.

Next week sees the Ray Sinclair Memorial Wick Cup of Darts in the Seaforth Highlanders' Club (pairs, PDC rules).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More