Home   Sport   Article

Three shooters hit maximum score as Wick Old Stagers stay top

By Contributor

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Round 10 of Caithness Small Bore Rifle Association's winter league had three shooters with the maximum score, all in Division One – D Simpson (Wick Old Stagers), D Mowat (Pentland) and J G Campbell (Halkirk).

Wick Old Stagers are still in first position in Division One, equal on points with Huntly but with a better aggregate. Pentland are now three points behind Old Stagers and Huntly after losing to Halkirk.

Third division leaders Westfield are now three points clear of Lairg after Halkirk beat the Sutherland team.

Dingwall maintained their 100 per cent record in Division Four. They are seven points clear of second-placed Watten "C".

The juniors' individual league is still having a winter break and will return with round eight on Monday, February 5.

Results (shots dropped) – Division One: Halkirk "A" 5 beat Pentland "A" 8. Individual scores – Halkirk: J G Campbell 0, J Fraser 1, W A Campbell 2, R B Campbell 2. Pentland: D Mowat 0, G Begg 2, R L O Brown 3, P Richard 3.

Wick Old Stagers "A" 7 beat Wick Old Stagers "B" 10. Individual scores – Wick Old Stagers "A": D Simpson 0, H Simpson 2, B Young 2, G Sutherland 3. Wick Old Stagers "B": S Nicolson 1, S S Nicolson 1, A W Paul 2, George Sutherland 6.

Huntly "A" 8 beat Watten "A" 19. Individual scores – Huntly: L Thomson 1, W A Copland 1, G Habiby 2, R Murray 4. Watten: D Bremner 2, D Wilson 3, N Brims 6, G Bremner 8.

Top score in Division One for round 10 was 100 by D Simpson, D Mowat and J G Campbell.

Division Two: Extensions granted due to previous bad weather.

Division Three: Halkirk "C" 14 beat Lairg 29. Individual scores – Halkirk: S Campbell 1, J Bremner 1, R Sutherland 4, C Gunn 8. Lairg: I Mackay 7, D Macleod 7, M Peat 7, A Murray 8.

Westfield "A" 16 beat Huntly "B" 34. Individual scores – Westfield: M Mackay 1, M Mackenzie 2, G A Mackay 3, L MacDonald 10. Huntly: A Scott 4, L G Thomson 7, D Innes 7, C Grant 16.

Pentland "B" 17 beat Stirkoke "B" 22. Individual scores – Pentland: P Gates 1, A Cowe 3, J Coghill 6, W D Steven 7. Stirkoke: G Henderson 1, G Cameron 4, A Webster 8, D G Henderson 9.

Top score in Division Three for round 10 was 99 by five shooters – S Campbell and J Bremner (Halkirk), M Mackay (Westfield), P Gates (Pentland) and G Henderson (Stirkoke).

Division Four: Dingwall 22 beat Wick Old Stagers "C" 32. Individual scores – Dingwall: R H Meiklejohn 3, B Mackintosh 4, R C Meiklejohn 4, H Meiklejohn 11. Wick Old Stagers: C Ronaldson 7, A Tait 7, I Simpson 9, A Harper 9.

Clachnacuddin 24 beat Pentland "C" 305. Individual scores – Clachnacuddin: G Smith 4, W H Macdonald 5, B Harding 6, R Emburey 9. Pentland: W D Mowat 5, 3 x NCR 300.

Watten "C" 27 beat Stirkoke C 128. Individual scores – Watten: K Macaulay 4, L Bremner 5, M Macaulay 9, D Thomson Jnr 9. Stirkoke: I Gunn 5, G Hendry 9, J Cameron 14, NCR 100.

Top score in Division Four was 99 shot by R H Meiklejohn (Dingwall).

Division Five: Late results.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More