Home   Sport   Article

Terrific Telfer is a worthy winner in Dave Lyall Trophy

By Staff Reporter- NOSN

Contribute to support quality local journalism

The Dave Lyall Trophy on Saturday saw a winner who spends a lot of his time assisting in the running of Thurso Golf Club, which Dave himself did. Jim Telfer doubled bogeyed the first but then had eight pars and nine bogeys to return a winning score of 80 (16) 64.

Steve Spargo (8) and Andrew Main (8) were both two over par for both halves as they returned 73 (8) 65. Spargo was overall runner-up after countback.

Tyler Gordon (17) birdied the 18th to also finish on nett 65. Hamish Boyd came home in one over par to return 75 (9) 66.

Ronnie Gray (12) birdied the 7th to finish with a nett 68, alongside Jim Macleod. Ross Sutherland (12) was a shot further back on nett 69.

The Newsbeat summer league is at round 20 and is fast approaching its conclusion. Steven Lowe (12) was this week’s winner with 40 points. Lowe birdied the third, but a back nine of two over pars after bogeys at the 16th and 18th was his highlight.

Alan Swanson (2) continued his fine form and he got off to a blistering start with birdies at the second, third and fourth. A further birdie at the ninth saw him reach the turn four under par.

The back nine proved tougher with the only birdie at the 13th. This saw him home with 40 points.

Young Tyler Gordon (18) continued with his steady progress as he returned 38 points. Ed Wyllie (7) was another who had a birdie at the 13th as he returned 37 points. Steve Spargo (8) birdied the 11th and 18th as he also had 37 points, as did Andrew Main (8) who birdied the 12th. Donald Bain (15) was on his own with 36 points.

Sunday saw the Pentland Open in a new format called Russian Stableford. The team of two mark the card as normal individual scoring. A third card is marked for the team score, which is calculated by multiplying together the two players’ Stableford points at each hole.

The winning team was Bryan Suttar and Steven Lowe with 75 points, three clear of Alan Swanson and Jim Sangster. Steve Efemey and Andrew Taylor were third with 70 points.

The individual winner was Ross Sutherland (12) with 38 points – he birdied the second and came home in four over par.

Steve Backer (20) had two twos on the front nine, the first at the par-three third and the second at the par-four eighth. This saw him in second place, also with 38 points.

Bryan Suttar (6) birdied the first, eighth and 15th as he returned 37 points, alongside regular Reay visitor James Swan (12). Jim Sangster (3), Jocky Begg (10) and Alan Swanson (1) all had 36 points.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More