Home   Sport   Article

Seaview are champions again in Wick and District Darts League

By Ali Morrison

Contribute to support quality local journalism

Seaview have secured the Wick and District Darts League men's title for the sixth time in seven years.

The champions are Kevin Macgregor, James Howden, Stewart Tait, Calum Shearer, James Davidson and Andrew Mowat, not forgetting Marc Macgregor who is still a team member even though he has been on the sidelines with an injury.

But there was something of an anti-climax as they were awarded the points when Smiddy Inn could not raise a side on the night due to work commitments,

Player of the week was Queen's veteran Rab Edwards with two maximums and an exhibition-style checkout on 132.

This was not the highest outshot, though, as another veteran hit a 140 finish for the Seaforth – John Macphee against Castletown, who now sit at the bottom the table, with Division Two awaiting for them next season.

Yet again Geordie Bain won all three points for the village side. He defeated Damon Meikle 3-2 and in the pairs, with partner Barry Sutherland, he had wins against Meikle and John Macphee (2-0) and Ronnie Plowman and David Bain (2-1).

In the second division Sinclair Bay's Eean Ronaldson and Chris Scott had to rely on their pairs experience from their victory the previous week, along with Les Macadie and Benji Mackay, who hit a 16-darter as they found themselves 0-4 down at home to Smiddy "3.

The visitors Smiddy "3" started with Michael Sinclair winning 3-0 against Ronaldson, followed by Colin Trueman's 3-2 victory over Scott including 15 and 19-dart legs. Then David Taylor won 3-1 against Benji Mackay and Isaac Saint defeated corrie-fister Les Macadie 3-0.

But a remarkable comeback was on the cards as the Keiss side won all four pairs, losing a solitary leg, to keep themselves in the title hunt along with their opponents.

Harper's also had to fight back for a draw.

The second division has never been so close as the Norseman are also in with a shout. With only three weeks to go, any one of four sides – Harper's, Norseman, Smiddy “3” or Sinclair Bay – could win it.

Morgan Perry was the ladies' star performer for champions Queen's with no fewer than six ton-plus scores.

Results – Ladies: Camps 2 Sinclair Bay 6; Queen's 4 Seaview 4.

Men's Division One: Castletown 3 Seaforth 5; Queen's “2” 2 Harper's B 6; Seaview 8 Smiddy Inn 0 (w/o); Queen's 4 Park 4.

Men's Division Two: Harper's 4 Smiddy “2” 4; Sinclair Bay 4 Smiddy “3” 4; Smiddy “4” 2 Seaview “B” 6; Comm 8 Harper's “C” 0 (w/o).

Rab Edwards (Queen's) hit two maximums, while David Taylor (Harper's “B”), James Ross (Park), Jordan Oag (Smiddy “2”) and David Bain ( Seaforth), had one each.

Ton plus-checkouts: John Macphee (Seaforth) 140, Rab Edwards (Queen's) 132, Isaac Saint (Smiddy “3”) 102.

Martin Nicolson (Harper's “B”) scored a 177 and Les Macadie (Sinclair Bay) and Saulius Kazakauskas (Norseman) both hit 171 in the second division.

In the ladies' division Claire Thain (Sinclair Bay) and Julie Harper (Queens) both hit 140.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More