Home   Sport   Article

Seaview and Harper's 'B' survive tight tussles in Wick darts league

By Ali Morrison

Contribute to support quality local journalism

Kara Sutherland came out on top as the ladies' players in Wick and District Darts League had an open singles in the Seaforth Highlanders' Club this week.

Sutherland defeated her Queen's team-mate Freda Perry 3-2 in the final. The losing semi-finalists were young Sammie Campbell (Sinclair Bay) and Irene Green (Seaview).

Freda Perry and Kara Sutherland both hit 140, while Liz Ronaldson (Sinclair Bay) had the highest checkout on 94.

Sutherland took out 84 and 59 outshots.

There was league action for the men, and in Division One the Seaview team were put to the test by the Queen's as John Scollay beat Callum Shearer 3-1 and Rab Edwards had a 3-1 victory over Stewart Tait. However, the league leaders showed their true grit and held on for the win.

It was a similar story as Harper's “B” entertained Castletown. The home side raced into a 4-0 lead as Harper's won the singles – Martin Nicolson 3 Ali Simpson 0; John Burns 3 Donnie Farquhar 2; Alan Nicolson 3 Geordie Bain 2; and David Taylor 3 Alan Henderson 1.

Then came a fine comeback by the bottom side as they took the first three pairs and had darts at the double for the draw. In the end, though, it was hard-earned victory for Harper's.

Sinclair Bay were also coasting versus the Division Two leaders Harper's but again a spirited fightback saw the points shared.

The Norseman now lead the second division after their victory over Smiddy “2”. Andy Cormack's Harper's “C” got their first win in the battle of the basement boys.

Results – Men's Division One: Seaview 5 Queen's 3; Queen's “2” 6 Park 2; Harper's “B” 5 Castletown 3; Seaforth 6 Smiddy Inn 2.

Division Two: Sinclair Bay 4 Harper's 4; Smiddy “4” 1 Harper's “C” 7; Norseman 5 Smiddy “2” 3; Smiddy “3” 6 Comm 2; Harper's 6 Seaview “B” 2.

Maximums: David Taylor (Harper's “B”) 2, James Howden, Stewart Tait (both Seaview), Chris Scott (Sinclair Bay), Ryan Campbell (Smiddy “2”), Richard Thain, Graham Crowe, David Miller (all Smiddy Inn), David Bain, Ronny Plowman (both Seaforth), Kevin Donald (Queen's “2”)

Shortest legs: Alan Nicolson (Harper's “B”) and George Macphee (Harper's), both 16 darters.

Alec Clark (Park) 130 checkout, Ryan Campbell (Smiddy “2”) 116, Graham Crowe (Smiddy Inn) 109, Martin Campbell (Smiddy “2”) 105 and Alan Henderson (Castletown 105.

Seaview have a five-point lead over Seaforth and Harper's “B” at the top of Division One.

Division Two sees Norseman on 16 points along with Harper's, followed by Sinclair Bay on 15, and lurking in the background are Isaac Saint's Smiddy “3” with 13 points but a game in hand.

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More