Home   Sport   Article

Rifle league: Halkirk victory leaves three teams on 10-point mark

By Contributor

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Round eight of Caithness Small Bore Rifle Association's winter league had four shooters with the maximum score – J G Campbell and J Fraser (Halkirk), H Simpson (Wick Old Stagers) and W A Copland Huntly, all in Division One.

Halkirk’s victory over Wick Old Stagers "A" means there are three teams on 10 points in Division One, although the Old Stagers maintain their lead over Huntly and Pentland due to their better aggregate.

Orkney took advantage of Watten’s draw with Halkirk in Division Two. The islanders' better aggregate over Watten has them in top spot.

Lairg are still leading the way in Division Three, a point clear of Westfield.

Dingwall extended their lead in Division Four to seven points after Clachnacuddin and Watten drew.

The juniors have a winter break and will return with round eight due on Monday, February 5.

Results (shots dropped) – Division One: Halkirk "A" 5 beat Wick Old Stagers "A" 7. Individual scores – Halkirk: J G Campbell 0, J Fraser 0, R B Campbell 2, W A Campbell 3. Wick Old Stagers: H Simpson 0, B Young 1, S S Nicolson 3, D Simpson 3.

Watten "A" 7 beat Wick Old Stagers "B" 11. Individual scores – Watten: D Bremner 1, N Brims 1, D Wilson 2, G Bremner 3. Wick Old Stagers: Graeme Sutherland 2, George Sutherland 2, S Nicolson 3, A W Paul 4.

Huntly "A" 7 beat Pentland "A" 12. Individual scores – Huntly: W A Copland 0, L Thomson 2, R Murray 2, G Habiby 3. Pentland: R L O Brown 2, D Mowat 3, G Begg 3, P Richard 4.

Top score in Division One was 100 by Campbell, Fraser, Simpson and Copland.

Division Two: Orkney 17 beat Keiss 19. Individual scores – Orkney: R Spence 1, D Sinclair 4, A Hakim 4, A Purchon 8. Keiss: A Johnson 3, J Dunnet 4, B Cormack 5, W Mackay 7.

Dallas 18 beat Stirkoke "A" 23. Individual scores – Dallas: K Sutherland 2, J Anderson 3, N Sutherland 6, G Sutherland 7. Stirkoke: I Sutherland 5, J M Sutherland 6, R Innes 6, G Robertson 6.

Watten "B" 21 drew with Halkirk "B" 21. Individual scores – Watten: S Henderson 4, B E Mackay 4, S Mackay 6, D Thomson 7. Halkirk: R Levack 3, S Yuille 5, G Levack 6, T Hawes 7.

Top score in Division Two was 99 shot by R Spence (Orkney).

Division Three: Lairg 16 beat Huntly "B" 29. Individual scores – Lairg: I Mackay 1, A Murray 3, M Peat 5, D Macleod 7. Huntly: A Scott 3, D Innes 7, C Grant 8, L G Thomson 11.

Westfield "A" 19 beat Pentland "B" 20. Individual scores – Westfield: G A Mackay 4, L MacDonald 4, M Mackay 5, M Mackenzie 6. Pentland: J Coghill 2, P Gates 4, A Cowie 6, W D Steven 8.

Stirkoke "B" 19 beat Halkirk "C" 24. Individual scores – Stirkoke: D G Henderson 4, G Cameron 4, A Webster 5, G Henderson 6. Halkirk: R Sutherland 4, S Campbell 4, J Bremner 8, C Gunn 8.

Top score in Division Three was 99 shot by I Mackay (Lairg).

Division Four: Dingwall 20 beat Pentland "C" 214. Individual scores – Dingwall: B Mackintosh 2, R C Meiklejohn 4, R H Meiklejohn 5, H Meiklejohn 9. Pentland: W D Mowat 7, W G Steven 7, 2 x NCR 200.

Watten "C" 29 drew with Clachnacuddin 29. Individual scores – Watten: L Bremner 5, M Macaulay 5, K Macaulay 6, D Thomson jnr 13. Clachnacuddin: R Emburey 4, A Rose 7, B Harding 8, W H Macdonald 10.

Wick Old Stagers "C" 32 beat Stirkoke "C" 128. Individual scores – Wick Old Stagers: A Harper 5, A Tait 6, I Simpson 10, C Ronaldson 11. Stirkoke: I Gunn 4, B Foubister 11, J Cameron 13, NCR 100.

Top score in Division Four was 98 shot by B Mackintosh (Dingwall).

Division Five: Late results.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More