Home   Sport   Article

Record time for Caithness vet Washington

By SPP Reporter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Caithness Cycling Club riders were on top form in the North of Scotland 50-mile Championships
Caithness Cycling Club riders were on top form in the North of Scotland 50-mile Championships

CAITHNESS Cycling Club riders were on top form in the North of Scotland 50-mile Championships near Invergordon last Sunday, with Alasdair Washington retaining his veterans’ title and Lorna Stanger and Dave Morrill both scoring personal bests.

After several years of strong winds for the event conditions were at last excellent with little wind, no rain and temperatures at 15C, and riders responded with no fewer than five NOSCA records.

Pride of place went to the new North champion Gavin Shirley, from Fort William, whose stunning 1h 51m 44s – an average of 26.8 mph – took 1m 47s off the record for a North rider on a North course, set last year on the same course by Peter Alexander. Unfortunately Alexander was unable to defend his title due to illness.

Forres rider James McLaughlin was on impressive form, less than three minutes in arrears, to take silver and a North record on any Scottish course for a 44-year-old. Third placed was regular Aberdeen visitor Norman Skene (55) with another excellent ride well under the two hours, but the bronze medal went to Ross-shire’s Roger Sewell. His 2h 7m 22s is a North record for a 63-year-old on a North course.

The ladies’ gold was won by Anne Murray with another North record on a North course for a 42-year-old while Washington’s winning veteran ride was a record for a 74-year-old on any Scottish course.

Dave Morrill stormed round to beat his previous best by six minutes and Lorna was also on good form for a two-minute improvement to complete the success story for the Caithness team.

Results: 1, G. Shirley (Nevis Cycles), 1h 51m 44 sec; 2, J. McLaughlin (Forres CC), 1.54.22; 3, N. Skene (Granite City), 1.57.30; 4, R. Sewell (Ross-shire RCC), 2.7.22; 5, G. Luce (Elgin CC), 2.7.57; 6, Anne Murray (Square Wheels), 2.9.40; 7, D. Morrill (CCC), 2.10.04; 9, A. Washington (CCC), 2.14.47; 12, Lorna Stanger (CCC), 2.23.00.

Conditions were also good for the local weekly 10-mile time trial, with a light north-westerly wind and 15C. Seven of the 13 riders recorded their best time of the year. Sixteen-year-old Rob Murdoch went one better and scored a PB by 15 seconds while Alan Sutherland took six seconds off his best on this course. Darren Bain gained maximum points in the Handicap League, followed by Roger Broughton.

Results: 1, A. Sutherland, 24 min 48 sec; 2, R. Murdoch, 25.19; 3, D. Bain, 25.38; 4, J. Falconer, 26.04; 5, A. Washington, 26.51; 6, P. Cartwright, 27.13; 7, R. Toswill, 27.56; 8, Lorna Stanger, 28.26; 9, R. Broughton, 28.36; 10, G. Angus, 29.02; 11, S. Coulden-Smith, 29.59; 12, J. Sinclair, 30.35; 13, Angela Bain, 33.49.

In the Handicap League Broughton now climbs to first equal with Heath Mackay, ?both two points clear of Allan Sutherland.

Leading Positions: 1eq, R. Broughton and H. MacKay (23 points); 3, A. Sutherland (21); 4, P. Cartwright (19); 5, R. Murdoch (17); 6, J. Sinclair (12).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More