Home   Sport   Article

McCarthy a clear winner in Caithness time trial as Handicap League hots up

By Alan Hendry

Get the Courier and Groat sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper

David McCarthy was a clear winner in Caithness Cycling Club’s weekly 10-mile time trial, storming round in 22 min 9 sec at an average speed of 27.1 mph.

McCarthy, together with second and third-placed Alistair Miller and Iain Miller and 18-year-old Rory Simmons, all scored personal bests on a warm evening with a 7 mph easterly wind.

Phil Cartwright improved on his season’s best by 1 min 43 sec to gain the maximum of six points in the Handicap League, followed by McCarthy and Angus MacKay.

MacKay now has a narrow lead in the season-long competition, with Iain Miller, Martine Hughes and Gary Angus hot on his heels.

Results: 1 David McCarthy, 22 min 09 sec; 2 Alistair Miller, 25.04; 3 Iain Miller, 27.17; 4 Angus MacKay, 27.22; 5 Roger Broughton, 27.39; 6 Gary Angus, 28.21; 7 Phil Cartwright, 28.25; 8 Lorna Stanger, 28.32; 9 Rory Simmons, 30.53; 10 Martine Hughes, 32.54.

Handicap League: 1 Angus MacKay (35.5.points); 2 Iain Miller (34); 3 Martine Hughes (27.5) 4, Gary Angus (26); 5 Phil Cartwright (22.5); 6 David Anderson (19).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Get a digital copy of the Courier and Groat delivered straight to your inbox every week allowing you to swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper - it looks just like it does in print!


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More