Home   Sport   Article

Seven Caithness Small Bore Rifle Association shooters record maximum score in round three of 2023/24 season

By Andrew Henderson

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

The third round of the 2023/24 Caithness Small Bore Rifle Association leagues saw a string of perfect performances, with seven shooters recording the maximum score.

In the top division, Halkirk duo J Fraser and RB Campbell each return scores of 100, alongside H Simpson (Wick Old Stagers), RLO Brown (Pentland) and G Habiby (Huntly).

Two more shooters accomplished the deat in Division Two – S Henderson of Watten and R Spence of Orkney.

The third round of the Caithness Small Bore Rifle Association season has taken place. Picture: Brian Young
The third round of the Caithness Small Bore Rifle Association season has taken place. Picture: Brian Young

Their individual performances mean that three teams are sitting on four points at the top of Division One – Wick Old Stagers A, Huntly A and Watten A. It is the Old Stagers who claim top spot for the time being by virtue of their superior aggregate.

In Division Two, Halkirk B are two points clear at the top of the standings as the only team to have won three out of three, with Stirkoke A and Watten B looking like their closest challengers this season.

Two teams are locked together on six points at the top of Division Three, with only a better aggregate putting Westfield A above Lairg in the table.

Dingwall lead the way in Division Four, again the only team in their division to have won three out of three. There, Clachnacuddin and Stirkoke C both sit on four points.

It is a similar story in Division Five, where Westfield B lead the way as the last remaining undefeated side this season, and extra win ahead of Bogey 60 and Nairn A.

In the Junior ranks, Division One looks like it could be closely contested this season. S Campbell currently has a two point advantage at the top, but there are three shooters just behind – R Sutherland, J Bremner and I Simpson. The Junior Division Two sees L Taylor leading the way ahead of C Mackay.

Results (Shots dropped)

Division One

Halkirk A 4 beat Wick Old Stagers A 6. Individual scores: Halkirk – R B Campbell 0, J Fraser 0, W A Campbell 1, J G Campbell 3; Wick Old Stagers – H Simpson 0, D Simpson 1, S Nicolson 2, B Young 3.

Huntly A 7 beat Pentland A 106. Individual scores: Huntly – G Habiby 0, L Thomson 1, R Murray 3, W A Copland 3; Pentland – R L O Brown 0, D Mowat 3, G Begg 3, 1 x NCR.

Watten A 8 beat Wick Old Stagers B 17. Individual scores: Watten – N Brims 1, D Bremner 2, D Wilson 2, G Bremner 3; Wick Old Stagers – S S Nicolson 1, A W Paul 2, Gra Sutherland 5, Geo Sutherland 9.

Top score in Division One for round three was 100, shot by five shooters – H Simpson (Wick Old Stagers A), R Brown (Pentland), R B Campbell and J Fraser (Halkirk) and G Habiby (Huntly).

Division Two

Stirkoke A 12 beat Dallas 400. Individual scores: Stirkoke – I Sutherland 1, R Innes 2, J M Sutherland 2, G Robertson 7; Dallas – 4 x NCR.

Orkney 15 beat Keiss 27. Individual scores: Orkney – R Spence 0, D Sinclair 2, A Hakim 5, A Purchon 8; Keiss – A Cormack 4, J Dunnett 5, W Mackay 8, J Harold 10.

Halkirk B 19 beat Watten B 22. Individual scores: Halkirk – G Levack 2, S Blackwood 5, R Levack 6, T Hawes 6; Watten – S Henderson 0, B E Mackay 5, D Thomson 7, S Mackay 10.

Top score in Division Two for round three was 100, shot by S Henderson (Watten) and R Spence (Orkney).

Division Three

Halkirk C 17 beat Stirkoke B 19. Individual scores: Halkirk C – R Sutherland 2, S Campbell 3, S Yuille 3, C Gunn 9; Stirkoke – A Webster 4, G Cameron 5, G Henderson 5, R MacKay 5.

Westfield A 19 beat Pentland B 21. Individual scores: Westfield – G A MacKay 3, J Manson 4, M MacKay 4, M MacKenzie 8; Pentland – J Coghill 3, A Cowe 5, P Gates 6, W D Steven 7.

Lairg 27 beat Huntly B 30. Individual scores: Lairg – D MacLeod 5, M Peat 7, I MacKay 7, A Murray 8; Huntly – D Innes 3, A Scott 4, L G Thomson 4, C Grant 19.

Top score in Division Three for round three was 98, shot by R Sutherland (Halkirk).

Division Four

Clachnacuddin 16 beat Watten C 35. Individual scores: Clach – R Emburey 2, B Harding 3, W H Macdonald 4, A Rose 7; Watten – L Bremner 7, D Thomson Jr 7, K Macaulay 8, M Macaulay 13.

Dingwall 18 beat Pentland C 215. Individual scores: Dingwall – B Mackintosh 1, R C Meiklejohn 4, R H Meiklejohn 4, H Meiklejohn 9; Pentland – W D Mowat 6, W G Steven 9, 2 x NCR.

Stirkoke C 34 beat Wick Old Stagers C 43. Individual scores: Stirkoke – G Hendry 3, D G Henderson 5, I Gunn 12, J Cameron 14; Wick Old Stagers – A Tait 7, C Ronaldson 9, A Harper 11, I Simpson 16.

Top score in Division Four for round three was 99, shot by B Mackintosh (Dingwall).

Division Five

Westfield B 35 beat Nairn B 112. Individual scores: Westfield – M Sutherland 5, L Taylor 7, A Jappy 11, F Adams 12; Nairn B – S Hanshaw 11, C Andrew 28, L Andrew 28, T Stuart 45.

The Bogey 60 beat Nairn A 63. Individual scores: Nairn A – S Murray 8, R Thompson 13, S Pickthall 20, M Pickthall 22.

Halkirk D 130 beat Stirkoke D 158. Individual scores: Halkirk – J Bremner 7, T Hall 9, G Campbell 14, 1 x NCR; Stirkoke – B Foubister 11, D Henderson 20, J Sutherland 27, 1 x NCR.

Top score in Division Five for round three was 95, shot by M Sutherland (Westfield).

Junior League Division One individual scores

R Sutherland 6 beat I Simpson 16

S Campbell 7 beat J Sutherland 100

J Bremner 8 beat G Campbell 11

Top score in the Junior League Division One for round three was 94, shot by R Sutherland.

Junior League Division Two Individual scores

L Taylor 19 beat G Mill 100

C Mackay 28 beat B Thomson 100

D Sutherland 100 drew with E Swanson 100

Top score in the Junior League Division Two for round three was 81, shot by L Taylor.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More