Home   Sport   Article

Halkirk 'A' take over top spot in Caithness rifle league as Wick Old Stagers are held

By Contributor

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Halkirk "A" moved into top spot in Division One of the Caithness Small Bore Rifle Association league after Wick Old Stagers were held to a draw by Banff & Macduff in round eight. Halkirk have a one-point advantage.

Wick Old Stagers "B" remain in first place in Division Two, leading the Bogey score by two points.

Halkirk "B" are two points clear in Division Three after beating their closest challengers Clachnacuddin.

Division Four leaders Stirkoke "C" are the only unbeaten team in the league with 16 points from eight matches. But there is no room for complacency with Banff & Macduff "B" two points behind.

Westfield "B" are back on top of Division Five, level on points with the Bogey but with a better aggregate.

Three shooters had the maximum score of 100 in round eight – H Simpson (Wick Old Stagers) in Division One along with S Nicolson (Wick Old Stagers) and B Spence (Orkney) in Division Two.

Results (shots dropped):

Division One: Wick Old Stagers "A” 6 drew with Banff & Macduff "A" 6. Individual scores – Wick Old Stagers: H Simpson 0, B Young 1, D Simpson 2, G Sutherland 3. Banff & Macduff: W A Copland 1, L Thomson 1, D Innes 2, R Murray 2.

Halkirk "A" 9 beat Stirkoke "A" 112. Individual scores – Halkirk: J G Campbell 2, R B Campbell 2, J Fraser 2, W A Campbell 3. Stirkoke: R Innes 3, G Robertson 3, I Sutherland 6, NCR 100.

Watten "A" 10 drew with Pentland “A” 10. Individual scores – Watten: S Henderson 1, J Henderson 2, D Wilson 3, D Bremner 4. Pentland: G Begg 2, P Richard 2, R L O Brown 3, D Mowat 3.

Division Two: Wick Old Stagers "B” 14 beat Watten "B" 30. Individual scores – Wick Old Stagers: S Nicolson 0, A W Paul 3, S S Nicolson 5, L Macdonald 6. Watten: B Mackay 3, D Thomson 5, G Bremner 9, D Thomson Jnr 13.

Bogey (18) beat Dingwall 21. Individual scores – Dingwall: B Macintosh 1, R H Meiklejohn 5, R C Meiklejohn 6, H Meiklejohn 9.

Orkney 19 beat Dallas 27. Individual scores – Orkney: B Spence 0, D Sinclair 4, C Duncan 5, A Purchon 10. Dallas: K Sutherland 3, N Sutherland 6, G Sutherland 9, J Anderson 9.

Division Three: Halkirk “B” 17 beat Clachnacuddin “A” 23. Individual scores – Halkirk: S Yuille 2, S Blackwood 4, G G Levack 5, T Hawes 6. Clachnacuddin: S Bunn 4, A Smith 5, G Smith 5, W Allan 9.

Westfield “A” 19 beat Stirkoke “B” 26. Individual scores – Westfield: M Mackay 1, M Sutherland 5, G A Mackay 6, C Green 7. Stirkoke: G Henderson 2, J M Sutherland 5, R Mackay 9, I Gunn 10.

Pentland “B” 21 beat Bogey (22) 22. Individual scores – Pentland: J Coghill 5, A Cowe 5, W D Mowat 5, P Gates 6.

Top score in Division Three was 99 shot by M Mackay (Westfield).

Division Four: Stirkoke "C" 28 beat Bogey (35). Individual scores – Stirkoke: D G Henderson 4, G Cameron 6, J Cameron 9, J Hendry 9.

Wick Old Stagers “C” 31 beat Pentland “C” 39. Individual scores – Wick Old Stagers: A Harper 7, C Ronaldson 7, A Tait 8, I Simpson 9. Pentland: W D Steven 4, Dan Mowat 7, A Cormack 13, S Richard 15.

Banff & Macduff “B” 35 beat Nairn 57. Individual scores – Banff & Macduff: J Lorimer 7, J Ross 8, M Zugaz 9, LG Thomson 11. Nairn: D Smith 6, M Maclennan 10, I Macpherson 16, S Murray 25.

Top score in Division Four was 96 shot by D G Henderson (Stirkoke) and W D Steven (Pentland).

Division Five: Clachnacuddin “B” 41 beat Bogey (52). Individual scores – Clachnacuddin: D Reid 7, N Macdonald 7, R Mackintosh 13, J Matheson 14.

Westfield “B” 47 beat Stirkoke “D” 216. Individual scores – Westfield: D Macaskill 6, J Taylor 7, A Jappy 13, L Calder 21. Stirkoke: G Hendry 2, D Henderson 14, NCR 100, NCR 100.

Halkirk “C” 122 beat Pentland “D” 313. Individual scores – Halkirk: R Sutherland 3, R Levack 4, S Campbell 15, NCR 100. Pentland: C Cormack 13, NCR 100, NCR 100, NCR 100.

Top score in Division Five was 98 shot by G Hendry (Stirkoke).

Morven Cup

Due to the pandemic, Caithness Small Bore Rifle Association's Morven Cup for season 2021/22 will be a postal knockout competition instead of the traditional shoulder-to-shoulder matches.

The competition involves eight shooters per team with the six best cards to count.

The preliminary round saw Halkirk shoot against Watten. Shots dropped scores were Halkirk 13, Watten 27.

Individual scores – Halkirk: J G Campbell 0, R B Campbell 0, S Blackwood 2, W A Campbell 3, J Fraser 4 and T Hawes 4. Watten: J Henderson 0, D Bremner 1, G Bremner 3, S Mackay 5, D Thomson Jnr 8, D Thomson Snr 10.

The semi-final draw sees Pentland shoot against Stirkoke and Wick Old Stagers versus Halkirk. There will be two cards per shooter and the last day for shooting is Monday, February 7.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More