Home   News   Article

Candidates for Wick and East Caithness Highland Council by-election announced

By John Davidson

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Have a look at our brand new digital subscription packages!

Nicola Sinclair left the role in June. Picture: DGS
Nicola Sinclair left the role in June. Picture: DGS

Five candidates will contest the seat left vacant by the departure of former Wick councillor Nicola Sinclair.

Highland Council confirmed the candidates for the by-election for the Wick and East Caithness ward after nominations closed on Friday.

The five candidates are Michael James Cameron, Scottish National Party; Harry Christian, Scottish Libertarian Party; Bill Fernie, Independent; Daniel Ross, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; and Jill Tilt, Scottish Liberal Democrats.

The Notice of Poll along with the Statement of Candidates nominated is available now from www.highland.gov.uk/byelection

To vote at these by-elections, residents must be registered. The deadline to register to vote is midnight on Monday, July 26. To complete a register to vote application online visit www.gov.uk/register-to-vote or telephone the Electoral Registration Office on 0800 393 783 to request a paper application form.

Poll cards are being issued to advise registered voters that voting will take place between 7am and 10pm on Thursday, August 12.

However, if you are unable to vote at your designated polling station you can apply to vote by post or appoint a proxy which is someone who can vote on your behalf.

The deadline to apply for a postal vote is 5pm on Tuesday, July 27. All postal voting packs will be posted out on Tuesday, August 3. The deadline for applications for appointing a proxy vote is Wednesday, August 4, and applications must reach the Electoral Registration Office before 5pm.

Further information is published on the council’s website on what voters need to know in advance of polling day, checking your eligibility to vote, including responses to frequently asked questions.

The candidates for a second by-election taking place on the same date were also announced.

Those standing in the Inverness West ward by-election are Colin Aitken, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Max Bannerman, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Iain Cullens Forsyth, Independence for Scotland Party; Calum Mark Liptrot, Scottish Libertarian Party; Ryan Mackintosh, Scottish Green Party; Kate Maclean, Scottish National Party; and Duncan McDonald, Independent.

Related news

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Keep up-to-date with important news from your community, and access exclusive, subscriber only content online. Read a copy of your favourite newspaper on any device via the brand new HNM App.

Learn more

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More