Home   Sport   Article

Staxigoe dish out six of the best to Swifts

By Matt Leslie

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Staxigoe United continued their recent good form as they hit Division One strugglers Thurso Swifts for six.

Goals from Martin Banks (2), Grant Aitkenhead, Grant MacNab, Colin Davidson and Marc Coghill wrapped up a comfortable 6-1 victory against the bottom side who bagged a consolation strike via Craig Sutherland.

The win moves Staxigoe up to fifth in the table, a point behind Thurso Acks and John O'Groats respectively. Swifts continue to prop up the league on minus three points.

John O'Groats also hit the goal trail as they thumped Lybster 5-2.

On the mark for the Victory Park side were Craig Kennedy, Jamie Howden, Mark Webster, Eddie Macgregor and Iain Green. Jonah Martens and Tony Miller replied for Lybster who drop down to sixth spot.

In Division Two, High Ormlie Hotspur's good run of results came to an abrupt end as Halkirk dented their automatic promotion chances with a 2-1 win at Ormlie Park.

Steven Campbell and Davy Byrne netted for the visitors, with Spurs – who are now seven points behind leaders Wick Thistle, having played a game more – replying through Euan Munro.

Watten and Keiss drew 1-1 at Watten Park. Shane Honeyman was on target for the home side with Keiss netting via Adam Sherry.

There were goals galore at the Dammies as Thurso Pentland claimed local derby bragging rights over Top Joes with a 5-3 victory.

Scott Ross was the star of the show with a hat-trick with Brendan MacLeod and Darren Mackay also scoring for Thurso Pentland. Joes' goals came via William Cannop (2) and Shaun MacDonald.


Friday, July 5

CAFA Division Two

Wick Thistle v Keiss (7.30pm)

Saturday, July 6

Eain Mackintosh Cup final

Pentland United v Wick Groats (3pm)

(At Recreation Park, Halkirk)

Tuesday, July 9

David Allan Shield – First round (all kick-offs 7.15pm)

John O'Groats v Thurso Acks

Lybster v Halkirk

Top Joes v Thurso Pentland

Wick Groats v Wick Thistle

Wednesday, July 10

David Allan Shield – First round (all kick-offs 7.15pm)

High Ormlie Hotspur v Watten

Keiss v Staxigoe United

Pentland United v Castletown

(Thurso Swifts receive a bye into the next round)

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More