Home   Sport   Article

Plowman wins tense final in Wick as singles and pairs darts events resume

By Staff Reporter- NOSN

Get the Courier and Groat sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper

After a long absence from the local darting calendar, the organiser of the Friends of the Glass tournament Arthur Bruce has got the county singles and pairs events up and running again.

A pretty poor turnout was the only sour point of this event that took place in the Seaforth Highlanders' Club this week.

After some scintillating darts, the men's singles semis saw Stewart Tait defeat Richard Thain 4-0 while home player Ronnie Plowman survived match darts against him from Willie Maclean for a narrow 4-3 win.

Ronnie won a tense final, defeating Stewart 4-2 to become the county champion for 2019/20.

Freda Perry won the ladies' event, defeating veteran Ann Wells in the final. Semi-finalists were Liz Ronaldson and young Morgan Perry.

Freda went on to double up with victory in the pairs along with Kara Sutherland, winning against Claire Thain and Liz Ronaldson in the final. Losing semi-finalists were Alison Tait and Sammy Campbell and Shelley Henderson and Ann Wells.

Richard Thain teamed up with Mark Thain to lift the men's pairs title, defeating Ronnie Plowman and Malcolm Begg at the final hurdle. Richie Taylor and Kevin Macgregor along with Stewart Tait and Billy Davidson made up the last four.

Week five of Wick and District Darts League saw three draws in the men's first division. Tie of the week was undoubtedly Seaview v Seaforth, and new county champion Ronnie Plowman lost to Kevin Macgregor by 2-3.

In the second division Harper's had a remarkable tussle in Lybster, coming home with all the points despite having had to forfeit three games as one of their team did not show up.

The Norseman had a really good away win in Keiss.

In the ladies' division there were wins for Seaview and Seaforth.

Results – Ladies' division: Camps 2 Seaview 6; Seaforth 5 Sinclair Bay 3.

Men's Division One: Harper's “B” 7 Queen's 1; Seaview 4 Seaforth 4; Castletown 4 Park 4; Queen's “2” 4 Smiddy Inn 4.

Men's Division Two: Seaview “B” 3 Smiddy “2” 5; Sinclair Bay 3 Norseman 5; Comm 3 Harper's 5; Smiddy “4” 0 Smiddy “3” 8

Maximums: Willie Maclean (Norseman) x 2, Barry Sutherland (Castletown), Saulius Kazakaskaus (Norseman), Ducker Harper (Norseman), Martin Campbell (Smiddy “2”), David Miller (Smiddy Inn), Sean Redmond (Queen's “2), James Ross (Park), Martin Nicolson (Harper's “B”) and Kevin Macgregor (Seaview).

Ladies' best scores: Rona Young (Seaforth) 140, Claire Thain 100 x 4, Liz Ronaldson 100-plus x 3, Maggie Riley 74 checkout.

Men's ton-plus checkouts: Dave Alexander (Smiddy Inn) 117, David Bain (Seaforth) 115, John Burns (Harpers “B”) 107, John Gunn (Harper's) 101, Stewart Tait (Seaview) 100.

Quickest leg: Hughie Duncan (Queen's), 15 darts.

Men's first division standings are Seaview 9, Harper's “B” 8, Seaforth 7, Smiddy Inn 6, Queen's “2” 3, Park 3, Castletown 2 and Queen's 2.

Harper's lead the second division with nine points, followed by Smiddy “2” 8, Norseman 6, Smiddy “3” 5, Sinclair Bay 4, Seaview “B” 4, Comm 2, Harper's “C” 1 and Smiddy “4” 1. Seaforth lead the ladies' division with five points from a possible six.

Next week it is round one of the knockout cup.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

Get a digital copy of the Courier and Groat delivered straight to your inbox every week allowing you to swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper - it looks just like it does in print!


This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More