Home   Sport   Article

Personal best for Munro in Wick Wheelers’ time trial

By Contributor

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Only four riders faced the stopwatch for Wick Wheelers’ time trial last week but it proved to be a memorable night for James Munro.

He recorded a personal best of 28.02 which was enough for second place on the night, ahead of Charlie Mackay and Lisa Coghill.

Danny Miller maintained his superiority over everyone by over four minutes.

Times: 1 Danny Miller, 24 min 00 sec; 2 James Munro, 28.02 (PB); 3 Charlie Mackay, 29.02; 4 Lisa Coghill, 31.24.

Week 12 of Caithness Cycling Club’s 10-mile time trial season had to switch to the slower Shebster course due to traffic lights on the A9.

Riders had a tailwind out but a tough return and a temperature of 13C. Stuart Swanson was again on good form on his road bike to clock 26 min 6 sec, ahead of Iain Miller and Angus MacKay.

Stuart Swanson competing in Caithness Cycling Club's recent Festival of Cycling. Picture: James Gunn
Stuart Swanson competing in Caithness Cycling Club's recent Festival of Cycling. Picture: James Gunn

Angus took three seconds off his season’s best but everyone else was well behind their fastest. Newcomer Chris Parkinson did well in testing conditions to record 32 min 56 sec in his first time trial.

Times: 1 Stuart Swanson, 26 min 06 sec; 2 Iain Miller, 27.51; 3 Angus MacKay, 28.04; 4 Roger Broughton, 28.43; 5 Lorna Stanger, 29.30; 6 Alasdair Washington, 30.34; 7 Chris Parkinson, 32.56.

The following week was just three days after the club’s successful Festival of Cycling three-race open weekend which, coupled with a temperature of just 10C and a strong west wind, resulted in only three riders facing timekeeper John Falconer. Fastest was again Stuart Swanson, from Iain Miller and Angus MacKay.

Times: 1 Stuart Swanson, 25 min 32 sec; 2 Iain Miller, 26.32; 3 Angus MacKay, 29.45.

The Handicap League, in which a rider’s time is compared with their season’s best, is still led by Roger Broughton with 55 points, from Alistair Miller (34), Stuart Swanson (27), Angus MacKay (26.5) and Martine Hughes (26). With six points available each week the competition is still wide open.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More