Home   Sport   Article

Pair in sudden-death play-off at Reay

By SPP Reporter

Easier access to your trusted, local news. Subscribe to a digital package and support local news publishing.

Gavin Sutherland and Don Mackay battled it out for glory.
Gavin Sutherland and Don Mackay battled it out for glory.

SUNDAY saw the finals of the club championship at Reay Golf Club, contested in overcast conditions with a slight breeze from the south-west.

The scratch final was a meeting between the two on-form players at the club in the shape of Gavin Sutherland and defending champion Don Mackay.

They qualified for the knockout ?stages in first and second places ? respectively.

Given the skills of the Sutherland and Mackay, the final was always going to be a close-run affair, and so it proved with extra holes required to determine the outcome.

Sutherland looked to have things wrapped up as he stood on the 16th tee three up with three to play.

However, Mackay demonstrated why he has won the title on numerous occasions in the past with a spirited comeback to square the match at the 18th and force a sudden-death play-off. Sutherland held his nerve and eventually emerged victorious at the second extra hole.

In the handicap final Colin Munro secured a two and one victory over the evergreen Keith Buxton following another close match.

Kenny Farmer took the spoils in the seniors’ championship by a similar margin following a seesaw battle with Pete McCartney.

The previous day, players teed up in bright conditions to compete for glory in the Parry Trophy.

Going home with the silverware after a blistering nett 65 was youngster James Hawes.

He reached the turn in 42 despite blighting his card with double bogeys at the sixth and eighth holes, and improved his inward half by two shots to record a gross 82 and secure a well-deserved handicap reduction.

Beaten into second place on countback following his own nett 65 was Ian Ritchie. He started well and a birdie at the tricky third helped him to reach the turn in 36.

Ritchie continued to cover the back nine with some steady golf, but will be rueing an untidy six at the 17th which proved costly in the final analysis.

Captain Murray McGlasson continued his fine form this season to record a nett 66 for third place.

McGlasson’s round comprised halves of 36 and 37 which included a birdie at the 13th. Just failing to make the podium on nett 67 were Ewan Crawford, Tim Hawes and Graeme Dunnett whose 73 was the best gross score of the day.

This weekend sees Reay hosting its annual 36-hole open, sponsored once again by the Dounreay Communities Fund.

Late entries will be accepted until 7pm today – contact Colin Munro (07816 766 789).

Draw – 7.44am and 12.14pm: S. Chisholm (R), player one; K. Farmer (R), player two.

7.52am and 12.22pm: Alex Mackay (R); A. Bain (R); I. Ritchie (R), player three

8am and 12.30pm: D.A. Mackay (R); C. Paterson (R); S. Harper (R).

8.08am and 12.38pm: Ian A. Mackay (R); K. Chalmers (R); A. Swan (R).

8.16am and 12.46pm: G. Sutherland (R); F .Groves (R); R. Munro (R).

8.24am and 12.54pm: C. Maycock (I); Andy Mackay (R); G. Munro (R).

8.32am and 1.02pm: J. Hawes (R); J. Eunson (R); G. Maxwell (R).

8.48am and 1.18pm: L. Parnell (R); K. Morris (T); S. Spargo (T).

8.56am and 1.26pm: M. McGlasson (R); S. Fidler (T); T. Hawes (R).

9.04am and 1.34pm: S. Ross (T); K. Buxton (R); D.C. Mowat (R).

9.12am and 1.42pm: A. Gunn (R); J.R. Mackenzie (R); A. Crawford (PF).

9.20am and 1.50pm: G. Gunn (R); E. Crawford (R); T. Ross (R).

9.28am and 1.58pm: D. Thorburn (T); C. Ross (R); R. McCartney (R).

9.36am and 2.06pm: P. McCartney (R); G. McEwen (T); Dav Mackay (R).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More