Home   Sport   Article

Dynamic display by Caithness Rhythmic Gymnastics as awards are handed over

By Staff Reporter- NOSN

THE 13th annual display and presentations for Caithness Rhythmic Gymnastics (a section of Caithness Gymnastics Club) took place in Thurso High School's Gym 2 to round off the gymnastic year.

Fresh from their appearance at Thurso's Midsummer Madness, the gymnasts treated the large audience of parents, family and friends to an exciting and dynamic display of rhythmic gymnastics in a programme that had an Abba theme. They showed off their difficult and intricate routines and their complex skills with ribbon, clubs, hoop and rope.

The display team showed the seven-minute Abba-themed routine they had performed in Motherwell at Scottish Gymfest, with their Gymfest routine from 2018 performed again and including every gymnast in the section.

Their coaches – Diane Gibson, Gemma Wares, Sine Hamilton, Alana McPhee and coach/gymnast Megan Wright – were all on hand to make sure the evening ran smoothly.

Gymnasts with their trophies and medals.
Gymnasts with their trophies and medals.

The evening concluded with the annual presentation of trophies and medals. These were presented to the gymnasts by their coaches and were as follows:

Junior rhythmic most improved runner-up: Quinn McGuigan. Junior rhythmic most improved 2019: Madison Hindmarch.

Junior rhythmic gymnast of year 2019: Lois Manson.

Junior rhythmic section medals: Beth McColm, Mairead McIntosh, Jaimee Barclay, Faye Gunn.

Intermediate rhythmic most improved runner-up: Mazie McCulloch. Intermediate rhythmic most improved: Hannah McColm.

Intermediate rhythmic gymnast of year 2019: Amber Sinclair.

Intermediate rhythmic section medals: Amy Sewell, Angelina Bain, Brooke McAlpine, Codeah Duquemin, Poppy Richmond.

Senior rhythmic most improved runner-up: Bethan Wood. Senior rhythmic most improved: Ellie McCulloch.

Senior rhythmic gymnast of year 2019: Ami Alexander.

Senior section medals: Carys Gunn, Edythe Cottam, Paige McPhee, Poppy Cottam, Megan Wright, Sophie Armstrong, Zara Smith.

Overall rhythmic gymnast of year 2019: Abby Scott

Rhythmic Coaches' Bravery Award 2019:Jaimee Barclay (this special award was given to Jaimee for showing great courage after breaking both her wrists when she fell from a high wall).

Best attendance2019: Brooke McAlpine

Classes have now ended for the summer and will resume in August when the schools return.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More