Alan Farquhar scores hole-in-one at Wick Golf Club
Get the Courier and Groat sent to your inbox every week and swipe through an exact replica of the day's newspaper
Wick Academy captain Alan Farquhar swapped his football boots for golf clubs – and scored his first hole-in-one at the weekend.
Alan (32) is one of Wick Golf Club's newest members, having just signed up at the beginning of this month.
On Saturday he was playing in a two-man Texas Scramble, only his second competition, when he hit a hole-in-one off the tee at the ninth – a par three.
"I took an eight iron, I hit it and saw it bounce once," Alan said.
He said it looked close but was difficult to judge until he and his golf partner Graeme Mackay, who plays off a 12 handicap, arrived on the green.
"It was sitting perfectly in the hole – spot-on," Alan said. "I was kind of shocked, to be honest. The rest of the game I played rubbish. I couldn't hit the ball to save myself.
"Graeme was more excited, he had never seen a hole-in-one before."
Traditionally the player would have to buy a round in the clubhouse after a hole-in-one. However, due to the current restrictions, that was a no-go.
Instead, Alan went home and had a couple of beers and plans to celebrate with the other golfers he is in a group chat with once the bar opens up again.
Alan was recently awarded a testimonial season to mark his many years of service to Wick Academy in the Highland League, but there is uncertainty over when competitive football can resume – so he decided it was a good time to take up golf.
He only got his 21 handicap last Monday after returning his first three scorecards in just two weeks. On the Wednesday he played in his first competition, the Glenmorangie Putter Eclectic, and then on Saturday he took part in the Texas Scramble.
Alan said: "I had planned taking up golf and took out a year's membership to see how I would get on."