Home   News   Article

Caithness baton bearers named

By SPP Reporter

Contribute to support quality local journalism

The Queen places her message in the baton before the relay's launch last October.
The Queen places her message in the baton before the relay's launch last October.

20 people have been selected to carry the Commonwealth Games Queen’s Baton when it arrives in Caithness as part of its tour across Scotland.

Highland Council have released the names of who will be carrying the baton when it comes to Thurso and Wick during July.

Included in the list of the names are cyclists Evan Oliphant and John Paul who have been named in the Scotland squad for Glasgow 2014.

Also carrying the baton will be Moira McBeath who competed at the 1986 Commonwealth Games in Edinburgh in the 400 metre hurdles.

The baton will arrive at Thurso on Wednesday, July 9 at 2.30pm before leaving for Orkney and arriving back in Caithness on Friday, July 11 when it will travel to John O’Groats at 8:30am and Wick at 10am.

Baton bearers in Thurso on Wednesday, July 9

Moira McBeath

James Macleod

Catriona Kennedy

Cathol Steven

Valerie Calder

Kerry Trueman

Gillian Allan

Malcolm Clasper

Michael Stone

Evan Oliphant

Baton bearers in Wick on Friday, July 11.

Alison Henderson

Alan Johnston

Kenneth Cormack

Laura Henderson

James Henderson

James Mackay

Cameron Reid

Owen Harrold

Kirsty Mackay

John Paul

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More