Published: 22/06/2012 11:00 - Updated: 22/06/2012 11:03

Lorna crowned Thurso singles champion

Thurso club open singles winner Lorna McDermid with runner-up Brian Cormack.
Thurso club open singles winner Lorna McDermid with runner-up Brian Cormack.

THURSO Bowling Club held its open singles last Saturday with a good entry of 28.

The quarter-finals saw Brian Cormack end John Harris’s reign with a 21-14 win. In the semi he faced Keith Boden who came through a tough affair with Dean McPhee with a score of 21-20.

Peter Dymond snr held off Douglas Morrison in another close game, 21-19, and his opponent in the semi-finals was Lorna McDermid after she comfortably saw off Douglas Fraser 21-10.

Brian started the better in his semi with Keith and managed to complete a 21-14 victory. There was an identical score in the second semi with Lorna getting the win to set up an intriguing final.

It was the first time Lorna and Brian had met in a singles game after over 30 years of bowling. Lorna got off to the better start but Brian came back and tied the game at 13 each after 19 ends. Lorna eventually killed off Brian’s hopes, winning 21-15 to become the 2012 champion.

The Scottish district finals were played at St Fergus Bowling Club in Wick last Thursday and Thurso had two representatives – the senior fours of Tommy Woods, Ricky McMahon, Dar Sutherland and Nigel Gower and the pairs of Alan Morrison and Ronnie Bain.

In a very close game with Alness, Nigel’s foursome had a great win to book their place in the national finals at Ayr’s Northfield bowling centre. Alan and Ronnie were a little unfortunate as they came up against the host club’s reigning district champions, Colin Mackintosh and Brian Harcus, and with home advantage they ousted Alan and Ronnie.

Thurso’s men’s Top Ten team travelled to Inverness last Sunday to face the Waterloo Bowling Club in the first round of this year’s competition and returned home victorious after a 5-3 scoreline.

Things started badly for Thurso when Brian Cormack struggled in the singles, going down 21-6. However, the rest of the team responded well with the pairs of Douglas Fraser and Brian Tewnion and the triples of Roddy Farmer, Peter Knapp and Douglas Morrison winning and the rink of Ross Cowan, Peter Dymond snr, John Harris and Nigel Gower securing the all-important point from their 17-all draw.

Thurso have another trip to Inverness in the next round when they square up to Inverness Bowling Club.

Thurso’s ladies have been busy in their district championships with Janet Sinclair and Cath Irons participating in the singles and Jackie and Lynne Swanson in the pairs.

Cath lost in her opening game to a Newtonmore opponent but Janet made it through to the semi-finals tomorrow.

Jackie and Lynne were unlucky in their game against the two-time national champions from Invergordon when they took a four-shot lead into the last end but the Invergordon pair showed why they have been Scottish champions and picked up a five to progress.

Tomorrow sees Thurso celebrate their 125th anniversary with an open round-robin rinks taking place – play begins at 9am.

Recent helter-skelter winners were Peter Dymond, Ryan Watt and Allan Hourston, Harry Cormack and Sandy Laird, Andy McLellan and Betty MacDonald and Johnty MacLeod and Ryan Watt.

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo