Published: 16/08/2017 21:27 - Updated: 16/08/2017 21:54

Lybster come to the 'four' to win Division Two title


Lybster celebrate winning Division Two. Photo Will Clark



Lybster 4 Thurso Swifts 0


Scorers: Martens (19, 22, 28) Atkins (25)

LYBSTER FC have been crowned CAFA Division Two champions after a ruthless display with four goals in the space of nine minutes midway through the first half.

Jonah Martens gave Lybster the lead when he connected with a long ball into the box from Nathan Lightley with a diving header to score from close range.

Martens doubled Lybster's advantage three minutes later with a thunderbolt from 25 yards which sailed into the bottom right hand corner of the net which Allan Bokas couldn't stop.

Stewart Atkins then made it 3-0 three minutes later when he was unchallenged in the box to nod Graham Sutherland's cross from the left wing into the net from close range.

Swifts were left stunned and gifted Lybster a fourth when a lack of communication between two defenders and the goalkeeper on who would clear a long ball from danger allowed Martens to nip in past all three and run the ball straight into the net.

Swifts will have one last chance for promotion when they face either Castletown or Wick Thistle in the play off next week.

< Back


Reddit Facebook Digg Twitter Bebo